iRacing Blog – 1/26/15 What is iRacing & how do drivers make it into the NASCAR PEAK Antifreeze Series?

The NASCAR PEAK Antifreeze Series (NPAS) powered by iRacing begins Feb. 24, 2015 at Daytona International Speedway.

Before the start of the series, the iRacing Pre-Season Thunder exhibition race will run Feb. 3 with coverage starting at 8 p.m EST at The race will be 25 laps at Daytona showcasing the drivers eligible for the NPAS.

The starting line-up for the Pre-Season Thunder is determined by fan votes. Vote for Justin at

What is iRacing and how do the drivers such as Justin make it to the premier NASCAR PEAK Antifreeze Series (NPAS)?  It does not happen overnight.

iRacing is the only racing simulation sanctioned by NASCAR. iRacing uses officially licensed cars engineered from the ground up in cooperation with real-world race teams and using real-world physics, CAD data, laser scanning, weighing and measuring specific parts and a physics engine. iRacing offers in the NASCAR series: Sprint cup Gen 6 cars, Xfinity Series cars, Camping World trucks, K&N cars, tour modifieds, SK modifieds, late models and Legend cars. All these cars can be adjusted like the real-world cars to find the ideal setup for the tracks.

The drivers can choose from 70 officially licensed, laser scanned exact replicas of road and oval tracks.

On iRacing, there is an official license class progression system for oval and road racing based on your skill and clean driving. The eight classes are: Rookie, Advanced Rookie, Class D, Class C, Class B, Class A, Pro and World Championship.

Every iRacer is held to a Sporting Code. Beginning as a Rookie, you progress through the classes based on your safety rating which is determined by incidents per race. You receive incident points for hitting the wall, spinning out or hitting other cars. The more incident points the lower your license. It is easier to lose a license than gain one.

Once you achieve a Class A license, most drivers are members of a team to work on adjusting the car’s setup for each track. It takes hours of practice laps and time trials to adjust the cars.

Each season, the top 50 drivers who have their Class A licenses compete for a Pro license. The drivers compete in a 10-week series with the races broadcast live on YouTube under the LSRTV channel. The top 20 at the end of the series receive their Pro license and are automatically entered in the NPAS.

When the NPAS starts in February, it consists of 20 World Championship drivers who finished 1-20 in the previous season’s NPAS race. The drivers who finished 1-20 in the Pro 10-week series are locked in for the NPAS. The drivers who finished 21-30 in the Pro 10-week series must qualify in for the remaining 3 available spots for a total of 43 drivers entered in each NPAS race.

Last season Justin finished the 10-week Pro series in position 21. He qualified in for each of the NPAS races in 2014 and finished the NPAS in the 10th spot giving him a World Championship license for 2015. To see the complete standings from last season’s PEAK Antifreeze Series click here.

This season’s NPAS starts Feb. 24, 2015. All races will be broadcast live at The winner will be recognized by NASCAR at the last NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Homestead-Miami Speedway and receive a check for $10,500. The winner is also invited to the banquet during Champions Week in Charlotte, NC.


Happy New Year

In just a few hours marks the end of another year. Counting down the hours, minutes, seconds just to count down the following months, weeks, and days to the next New Years Day. The past 365 is merely a number, for the people I have had the blessing to meet, there are 365 memories that will last a lifetime. Life’s not the breaths you take but the moments that take your breath away.

Each and every one of those 365 is a blessing, not a right. Happy New Year everyone! Drive Safe. Here’s to 2015

Justin Bolton at Hickory Motor Speedway